Eight Talented Young Australian Students Win the Simpson Prize to Attend the Commemorative ANZAC Day Services at Gallipoli

Canberra, Australia ( February 28, 2011

Eight Talented Young Australian Students Win the Simpson Prize to Attend the Commemorative ANZAC Day Services at Gallipoli

Eight Talented Young Australian Students Win the Simpson Prize to Attend the Commemorative ANZAC Day Services at Gallipoli

Eight talented young Australian students who have won the Simpson Prize will have the opportunity to attend the commemorative ANZAC Day services at Gallipoli as part of their award.

This popular national competition honours John Simpson Kirkpatrick, famous for his bravery under fire while rescuing his fellow soldiers at Gallipoli in 1915.

School Education Minister Peter Garrett today presented the eight winners and eight runners-up with their prizes.

“The Simpson Prize is awarded to the most outstanding explorations of the ANZAC story, which this year looked at at how the ANZAC legend has changed over the years,” Mr Garrett said.

“With over 600 entries this year from students all over the country, it’s clear that this vivid episode in Australian history is part of the picture of who we are today.

“I am proud that Australian students continue to build and foster a living connection with our past, making sure that our history is never forgotten.”

In essays or audio-visual presentations, students looked at the ANZAC legend in World War One, World War Two, the 1960s and more recently, and considered the representation of the ANZAC legend in popular film.

The winners and runners-up each receive a medallion to celebrate their achievements and take part in a special two-day Canberra study program which includes visits to Parliament House, the Australian War Memorial and the National Museum of Australia. The Australian Government provided $186,000 in funding for the 2011 Simpson Prize.

Mr Garrett said the Australian Government is committed to raising the quality of Australian history teaching and learning through the Australian Curriculum.

“The Gillard Government believes in the power of education to transform the lives of all Australian students,” Mr Garrett said.

“The Australian Curriculum will deliver a consistent, rigorous and engaging approach to history education for every student in the country.”

Minister for Veterans’ Affairs, Warren Snowdon, said that the example set by Simpson 96 years ago is still very relevant today.

“The contribution made by John Simpson Kirkpatrick and thousands of Australian and New Zealand soldiers at Gallipoli reminds us how individuals can make a difference in the face of adversity, and that qualities such as compassion, selflessness and helping those in need are still very important in today’s society,” Mr Snowdon said.

Mr Snowdon said that the significance of the Anzac legend would continue to increase in importance as the anniversary of the 100th anniversary of the Gallipoli landings neared.

The list of 2011 Simpson Prize winners, runners-up and teacher chaperones is attached. For more information on the Simpson Prize visit


New South Wales — Saint Ignatius College — John-Patrick Asimakis

Victoria — Star of the Sea College — Lauren McAlary

Queensland — Brisbane Girls Grammar — Tanvi Karnik

Western Australia — Ballajura Community College — Chelsea Moran

South Australia — Walford Anglican School — Zoe Williams

Tasmania — Smithton High School — Connor Bramich

Northern Territory — Palmerston High School — Hayley Chamberlain

Australian Capital Territory — Marist College — Gene Schirripa


Runners Up.

New South Wales — Caringbah High School — Kaitlin Lake

Victoria — Melbourne High School — Thomas Posa

Queensland — Tannum Sands State High School — Jack Hales

Western Australia — St Norbert’s College — Jern Cabral

South Australia — Prince Alfred College — Oskar Thiele

Tasmania — The Friends School — Erin Jose

Northern Territory — Palmerston High School — Amelia Hoffman

Australian Capital Territory — Marist College — Brenton Reis

Short URL:

Posted by on Feb 28 2011. Filed under Featured News, Travel. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0. You can leave a response or trackback to this entry

Leave a Reply

Copyright ©